5th Annual UHMWPE Conference

The finalized conference proceedings book (99 pp) can now be downloaded for the 5th UHMWPE International Meeting, which was convened at Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA, on September 22-23, 2011. The PDF proceedings include the program and the hyperlinked one- to two-page abstracts for 27 podium and 31 poster presentations. The purpose of the meeting was to bring together engineers, scientists, and clinicians from academia and industry and to present leading edge research on the development and applications of medical grade UHMWPE. The FDA gave an invited presentation their regulatory perspective for new UHMWPE biomaterials. The focus of the present meeting was on clinical, radiographic, and retrieval studies of highly crosslinked UHMWPE, with a special emphasis on the performance of knee arthroplasty; advances in Vitamin E and antioxidant technologies for UHMWPE; structural composites and woven fiber applications of medical grade UHMWPE; advances in biologic aspects of UHMWPE wear debris. We received a record number of abstracts for this meeting. For further details on the conference topics, see the final program and abstracts booklet which can be downloaded from this page.

We are pleased that Dr. Michael Kasser from the FDA attended this meeting and gave a keynote presentation on the FDA perspective on highly crosslinked UHMWPEs including antioxidants and other additives.

Abstracts were evaluated by the Scientific Committee for inclusion in the program, either as a podium presentation or a poster.

Scientific Committee:

  • Honorary President: Luigi Costa, Ph.D.
  • President: Steven Kurtz, Ph.D.
  • Pierangiola Bracco, Ph.D.
  • Enrique Gomez Barrena, M.D.
  • Elena Brach del Prever, M.D.
  • Amanda Marshall, M.D.
  • Jay Parvizi, M.D.
  • Yrio Konttinen, M.D.,Ph.D.
  • Joanne Tipper, Ph.D.
  • Jose Antonio Puertolas, Ph.D.
  • Orhun Muratoglu, Ph.D.
  • Clare Rimnac, Ph.D.
  • Lisa Pruitt, Ph.D.
  • Jeremy Gilbert, Ph.D.

Local Organizing Commitee (Drexel University):

  • Michael Beeman, Research Coordinator
  • Josa Hanzlik, Ph.D. Candidate
  • Dan MacDonald, Ph.D. Candidate
  • Doruk Baykal, Ph.D. Candidate
  • David Jaekel, Ph.D. Candidate
  • Genymphas Higgs, Undergraduate Researcher